2013 Portfolio Update

Screen Shot 2014-01-09 at 3.20.30 PM

It will be 12 years this May since neglect of my RSP holdings forced me to take action, sell off an over-sized foreign holding and finally buy in to my DOGS of the TSX theory. If you’ll recall from a previous post, I adapted the DOGS of the Dow strategy to the – at that time – TSX100 Composite index, now the S&P/TSX 60. The Dogs of the Dow is a stock-picking strategy in which one buys the top 10 best yielding companies in the Dow Jones Industrial 30, in equal number, and re-balances annually.

In my application, I invested equal sums in 5 of the top six yielding companies on the TSX, re-balanced and re-invested dividends annually, on the anniversary.

It was based on the performance of this method that I chose an early retirement.

One thought on “2013 Portfolio Update

  1. Pingback: 2013 Portfolio Update – May 6, 2014 | Day Early, Dollar Short

Leave a Reply

